The Edwin C. Bearss Book Award

In 2021 the Civil War Round Table established the Edwin C. Bearss Book Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Civil War History. This annual award is presented to an author for a single book or body of work that adds to our understanding of the Civil War in a meaningful way The award consists of a plaque and a cash honorarium.

This award is in honor of Col. Edwin C. Bearss. Mr. Bearss was a decorated marine serving World War II in the Pacific theater. Despite being grievously wounded, he attended college on the G.I. bill, earning his B.S. in Foreign Service studies from Georgetown University and his M.A. in History from Indiana University. Ed took a position with the National Park Service in 1955, As the historian at Vicksburg National Military Park, he located and helped raise the ironclad USS Cairo. Ed served as Chief Historian of the National Park Service from 1981 to 1994. Upon his retirement in 1995 he was named Chief Historian Emeritus. His encyclopedic knowledge of every aspect of the Civil War is legendary. Ed was the author of countless books and articles, a pioneer in the battlefield preservation movement, and a friend and mentor to several generations of historians. He tirelessly led battlefield tours for various groups, include the Civil War Rund Table of Chicago. He proudly guided our tours for more than 60 years.

This award is meant to honor the man and continue his legacy.

Edwin C. Bearss

We’re proud to announce that the 2023 Edwin C. Bearss Book Award is presented to esteemed author Hampton Newsome.

Edwin C. Bearss Book Award Recipients::

2022: Jeffery Wm. Hunt
2023: Hampton Newsome

Back to Top                     Home